Friendship Bread

Image

One of the most common recipes I make is Friendship Bread. Perhaps because the starter is ready every 10 days but also because it’s one of the favorites in my house. I can make 6 or 7 loaves and it’ll be gone long before it’s time it start the next batch. The basic recipe I follow if from here http://www.friendshipbreadkitchen.com/amish-friendship-bread and from this basic start there are so many places you can go.

I started my own personal starter back in July 2013. And have kept it going, you’d never believe how forgiving a starter can be LOL. I have forgotten about it for a couple week before and it was still good – yes I was amazed!

Once you’ve gotten your starter through the 10 day cycle and separated into your new 1 cup starter this is where I will pick up the recipe.

Ingredients:

1 cup starter
1/2 cup milk
1 cup oil
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup sugar
2 cups flour
1 large box INSTANT pudding (cook and serve won’t bake up right) – I use Banna this time
2 tsp Cinnamon
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
Using 2 loaf pans grease and use cinnamon sugar to ‘flour’ your pans.

Combine wet ingredients in a glass or plastic bowl and stir using a wooden spoon.

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl and wisk together.

Add dry ingredients to wet and stir until combined.

Spoon into the 2 prepared pans

bake for 1 hour or until tooth pick come out clean.

Cool and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

