Rainbow Cupcakes

So for my job I work with people with intellectual disabilities.  Basically I assist with skills needed to remain living on their own.  I also do respite with a couple young adults.

Today I was working with one of my respite kids whose 18th birthday happens to be tomorrow.  One of the goals we work on is cooking  so I gave her a few options for her birthday cake.  She chose rainbow cupcakes!  Basically its a super easy recipe since I used boxed cake mix.

Prepare one white cake mix as directed and divide into 6 equal bowls.  Add food coloring gel to each bowl with a toothpick and stir with a spoon. I use gel to avoid extra liquid in the batter. I bought mine at Walmart in the cake decorating isle.  Put a teaspoon of each color in the cupcake liners.  The batter doesn’t need to cover the whole bottom.  It will spread out as you add the layers of color.  Fill 2/3 with batter and bake as directed on the box. The end result makes for some colorful tasty fun! This recipe can be adapted to most any color scheme. Red white and blue for the 4th of July or black and white for your zebra loving teen. The possibilities are endless!  

20140112-160455.jpg

20140112-160635.jpg

20140112-160648.jpg

20140112-160700.jpg

20140112-160708.jpg

Leave a Reply

