Ham and Bean Soup

Hi everyone! Sorry I haven’t been posting theses last couple weeks, I’ve been trying to find a new job and I just haven’t stopped running 😦 , and my poor house is showing the results lol. But I decided to take a day off of running and spend it catching up on my house work and do a little in the kitchen – here is the result ;).

The cold weather turns my thoughts to soups. The old standby that comes in a can works in a pinch but if you take a few minutes in the morning add in a crock pot and presto you have a yummy homemade soup that tastes great and was super easy!

Ok so I’m gonna be honest. I’m NOT a bean eater normally but I love ham and bean soup! The combination of flavors……..YUM!

So here’s the super easy recipe:

1 48oz Chicken Stock plus 3 Cups Water
1 Decent sized ham hock
1 large Onion – chopped
4 stalks of Celery – chopped
4 – 6 large Carrots – peeled and chopped
3 or 4 cloves of Garlic – chopped
2 or 3 bay leaves

1 48oz jar of precooked Navy Beans drained
1 package spiral sliced ham – Chopped into bite sized pieces (I found this right by the cubed ham)

In the morning place the first 7 ingredients in the crockpot and turn on low for 6 to 8 hours (or while your at work 😉 ).

Add the ham and beans for about an hour – just long enough to heat through.

Serve with a good crusty bread for dipping and enjoy.

Krista ❤

20140129-132850.jpg

Leave a Reply

