Honey Teriyaki Chicken

20140406_171555

 

Dinner in my house is always a challenge due to Mr. Picky, aka my loving fiance.  I am constantly saying he has the pallet of a 5 year old, but I’m pretty sure I know some 5 year olds that will eat more than him!  I tend to buy in bulk when there is a sale so I don’t have to pay full price later.  This is how I became really tired of baked chicken breast.  We are not always the most inventive at the end of the day so I started looking for some chicken recipes that Mr. Picky will try.  Luckily I have found a winner with this recipe from http://www.frugalitygal.com/.  Honey, teriyaki, chicken.  Yep, he will eat this!  This is where I got the recipe.    http://www.frugalitygal.com/2013/09/honey-teriyaki-chicken-recipe.html#_a5y_p=1258963

  • 1.5 lbs boneless skinless chicken tenders (I had roughly 3.5lbs of chicken)

  • 1/3 cup honey (I used 1 cup of local honey)

  • 1/3 cup teriyaki sauce (I used 1 cup)

  • 1 tbsp soy sauce (3 TBSP low sodium soy sauce)

  • 1 tbsp minced garlic (I didn’t have fresh garlic so I just used about 2 TBSP garlic powder)

  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper (2 Tsp black pepper)

  • 1/4 tsp. Salt (1/2 tsp salt)

  • 2 tbsp. sesame seeds (I didn’t use these because I didn’t have them)

This is where I veered off the path of her directions.  I mixed all of this in a large bowl with a fork, sorry, I don’t touch raw chicken if I don’t have to!  My mother cut the chicken for me since my bum hand doesn’t allow for me to do that sort of thing.  Anyway, I put it in the fridge covered for 2 hours and then cooked it in a saucepan while my rice cooked away in the rice maker.  Once the sauce thickened I turned off the heat and let it stand for 5 min to thicken some more and then served over rice.  This was seriously delicious!   Oh how I love easy recipes !

Lynn

Leave a Reply

